志愿者所得税援助 (维他) 该程序是一项IRS程序,旨在帮助中低收入纳税人免费完成其年度纳税申报表. 该计划成立于 1971 向会计学专业的学生提供免费的纳税申报准备,以为会计学专业的学生提供有价值的社区服务和强大的动手学习经验. 该计划从一小群敬业的学生发展到现在的全国性计划,不仅为地区大学生提供数百万纳税人的服务, 但是每天想要通过提供真正的服务来改善社区的人们, 有形差异.

工作家庭运动, 公司. () 是国家提供免费税收准备服务的努力的一部分,该服务将增加有资格申请联邦税收抵免(例如,收入所得税抵免)的申报人数量 (EITC), 儿童税收抵免和教育抵免. 免费的税收筹划也是减少纳税人数量的手段,这些纳税人会沦为经常与私人税收筹划服务相关的昂贵的金融产品和服务. 在我们的许多税务地点, 我们还通过与其他组织的合作关系提供资源建设服务和公益注册帮助.

超过 45 年份, EITC减轻了中低收入工作家庭的年度税收负担,并成为美国规模最大,最有效的联邦反贫困计划. 在 2017, EITC的全额为 $6,318 对于符合条件的纳税人 3 或更多合格的家属. 可以想像, 以退款或储蓄保证金的形式出现的这笔款项可能会对低收入家庭的财务状况产生重大影响, 更何况当地经济.

在费城, 估计超过 40,000 符合条件的家庭不要求EITC, 大约离开 $100 数百万来自贫困和工人阶级社区以及我们地区经济的无人认领信贷.

作为该地区最大的VITA志愿者组织, 我们将帮助您轻松地帮助费城及周边县的在职家庭获得更强大的财务状况和更光明的未来. 通过与我们纳税地点的个人和家庭进行一对一互动, 您可以为该地区带来数千万美元的退款,, 以美元计, 您为服务家庭捐赠的时间价值. 在 2015, 800+ 志愿者登录 18,000 在我们的时间 38 税收地点, 带过来 $33.2 百万退税. 自成立以来 2003, 我们的VITA志愿者已提交 214,000 带来的报税表 $304 百万美元退款给费城和新泽西州的经济. Very few other poverty initiatives can claim such success. 在 2016, 850+ 志愿者登录 23,000 在我们的时间 38 税收地点, 带过来 $46.5 百万退税. 自成立以来 2003, 我们的VITA志愿者已提交 270,581 带来的报税表 $350.5 百万美元退款给费城和新泽西州的经济. 很少有其他反贫困举措能够取得如此成功.

尽管需要我们的大部分志愿者来准备纳税申报单, 我们还需要志愿者担任采访员和迎宾员. 单击此处查看志愿者角色和所需培训的完整说明. 您也可以通过以下方式支持我们的工作 在这里在线捐款以帮助我们继续这项重要工作.

以下是一些回应:

  • “看到知道自己的税款已正确备案的客户可以放心,他们将尽可能多地保留其辛苦赚来的钱。”
  • “帮助他人. 的确,帮助他人会给您带来满足感。”
  • “看到前几年的相同面孔, 客户和志愿者, 以及收到退款的家庭的反应。”

参加我们的免费培训的志愿者的最短时间承诺是 24 小时, 一月至四月间送达.

没有. 除了基本的计算机技能,您不需要任何以前的经验, 所有职位必不可少的. 对于所有志愿者职位, 我们将培训您所有需要了解的内容,包括计算机软件.

每个税务站点均由站点管理团队和经验丰富的志愿者组成,他们将在您学习如何扮演角色的过程中为您提供指导. 在整个纳税季节,您将始终被其他志愿者和经验丰富的员工包围着,以回答问题并根据需要为您提供支持.

我们拥有确保每份退货准备正确的系统. 完成退货后, 网站管理员或指定的质量审核员会仔细检查您的工作. 在极少数情况下没有发现错误, 作为经过培训和认证的志愿者, 您不承担法律责任. 根据《志愿人员保护法》 1997, 所有VITA志愿者都受到保护,不承担他们在志愿者职责范围内所执行的疏忽行为的责任。. 请参阅IRS出版物 4961.

纳税地点的每个角色都需要接受不同的培训和IRS认证. Click here for a complete description of the roles and necessary training.

如果您还有其他问题或疑虑, 请联系乔纳森·巴恩斯, 我们的志愿服务主任, 在 267-457-2653 或通过电子邮件 jbarnes@cwfphilly.org.

FAQ

FAQ 2017-10-30T17:26:32+00:00

The Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program is an IRS program designed to help low and moderate-income taxpayers complete their annual tax returns for free. The program was founded in 1971 to provide local taxpayers with free tax return preparation by accounting students in an effort to provide both a valuable community service and a powerful hands-ons learning experience for the accounting students. The program grew from a small group of dedicated students to what is now a nationwide program that serves millions of taxpayers for not only area college students, but everyday people who want to improve their communities by providing a service that makes a real, tangible difference.

The Campaign for Working Families, Inc. (CWFI) is part of a national effort to provide free tax preparation services that boost the number of filers eligible to claim the federal credits such as the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), Child Tax Credit and Education Credit. Free tax preparation is also a means to reduce the number of taxpayers who fall prey to costly financial products and services often associated with private tax preparation services. At many of our tax sites, we also provide resource building services and public benefit sign-up assistance through partnership with other organizations.

For more than 45 years, EITC has reduced the annual tax burden for low and moderate income working families and emerged as America’s largest and most effective federal anti-poverty program. In 2017, the full EITC amount is $6,318 for eligible taxpayers with 3 or more qualifying dependents. As you can imagine, this amount in the form of a refund or savings bond can have a significant effect on the financial well-being of a low-income family, let alone the local economy.

In Philadelphia, it is estimated that over 40,000 eligible households do not claim EITC, leaving approximately $100 million in unclaimed credits from poor and working class communities and our region’s economy.

As the region’s largest VITA volunteer organization, we make it easy for you to help working families in Philadelphia and surrounding counties achieve a stronger financial standing and a brighter future. Through one-on-one interactions with individuals and families at our tax sites, you can be a part of bringing in tens of millions in refunds to the region and can count, in dollars, the value of time you donated for the families served. In 2015, 800+ volunteers logged over 18,000 hours at our 38 tax sites, bringing in over $33.2 million in tax refunds. Since our founding in 2003, our VITA volunteers have filed over 214,000 tax returns that have brought in $304 million in refunds to the Philadelphia and South Jersey economies. Very few other poverty initiatives can claim such success. In 2016, 850+ volunteers logged over 23,000 hours at our 38 tax sites, bringing in over $46.5 million in tax refunds. Since our founding in 2003, our VITA volunteers have filed over 270,581 tax returns that have brought in $350.5 million in refunds to the Philadelphia and South Jersey economies. Very few other anti-poverty initiatives can claim such success.

Although the bulk of our volunteers are needed to prepare tax returns, we also need volunteers to serve as Interviewers and Greeters. Click here to see a complete description of the volunteer roles and required training. You can also support our work by making a donation online here to help us continue this important work.

Here are a few responses:

  • “Seeing the peace of mind of customers who knew their taxes were filed correctly and they would be keeping as much of their hard earned money as possible.”
  • “Helping others. It’s true that helping others gives you a feeling of satisfaction.”
  • “Seeing the same faces from previous years, customers and volunteers, and the reaction of families who received a refund.”

The minimum time commitment for volunteers who attend our free trainings is 24 hours, to be served between January and April.

No. You don’t need any previous experience aside from basic computer skills, essential for all positions. For all volunteer positions, we will train you in everything you need to know including the computer software.

Each tax site is staffed by a Site Management Team and experienced volunteers who will guide you as you learn how to perform in your role. Throughout the tax season you will always be surrounded by other volunteers and experienced staff to answer questions and support you as needed.

We have systems to ensure that every return is prepared correctly. After you complete your return, the site manager or designated Quality Reviewer will double check your work. In the unlikely case that a mistake is not caught, as a trained and certified volunteer, you are not held legally liable. Under the Volunteer Protection Act of 1997, all VITA volunteers are protected from liability for negligent acts they perform within the scope of their volunteer responsibilities. See IRS Publication 4961.

Each role at the tax site requires different training and IRS certification. Click here for a complete description of the roles and necessary training.

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact Jonathan Barnes, our Volunteer & Special Projects Manager, at 267-457-2653 or via email jbarnes@cwfphilly.org.