大块钱交给税务准备者

它几乎在假期庆祝活动之后开始 — 退税预付款广告.

要求退款可以很有吸引力, 尤其是如果假期支出占用了您的财务大部分. 对于那些因COVID-19大流行而失业或被迫减少工作时间的人来说,这也很诱人. 但是在您提出提前退税的要约之前, 确保您了解其工作原理.

您可能会陷入昂贵的“贷款”,” 而且您最终也可能会为不需要的服务付费.

请记住,如果您以电子方式提交税款并使用直接存款来退款, 您可能会在几周内获得退款.

退税预付款如何运作

第一, 您必须同意由提供退税预付款的公司准备您的税款. 大多数公司还限制预付款的金额.

请务必注意 税务准备公司不借钱给你 –他们与一家银行建立关系,借给您钱. 当您收到退税时, 预付款会自动从您的退款中扣除并汇入该银行, 有效地为您偿还贷款. 如果您借的钱少于退款总额, 您的退款余额通常会加载到预付卡中.

一些退税预付款确实会收取利息-最高 36% 在某些情况下! 即使您只是短期借钱(直到退款出现),这仍然意味着您欠公司的钱比借到的钱还多.

它是免费的钱吗?

没有免费的午餐, 俗话说. 即使税务准备服务宣传无息退税预付款, 费用可计入报税费中. 如果您不预先支付纳税准备金 (从您的退货中扣除费用), 税务服务可能会收取额外费用.

如果退款是使用付款卡发出的 (例如预付借记卡) 由税务服务提供, 卡可能会收取额外费用. 预付借记卡 可以有月租费和其他费用. 信用卡可以收取高利率和年费. ATM取款可能会产生费用 $3, 它可能会花费高达 $4.95 充值更多现金. 全部加起来.

转换成 年利率, 成本可能会比较高 (百分之几的年利率, 例如). 您要付费才能更快地获得自己的钱.

税务准备人员也可能会收取固定费用来处理您的退税预付款, 有时称为 退还预期贷款. 这些费用可能是 $30 至 $50 要求联邦退款, 加上州退款的额外费用. 根据预付款的发布方式,可能还会产生额外费用. 例如, 的费用 $30 可以打印支票或发行借记卡.

到底有多危险?

除了可能的高额费用, 从美国国税局获得的退款金额直到您手头有钱时才是最终的. 报税员可能会计算错误, 否则美国国税局可能不允许您扣除某些款项. 例如, 国税局可能会扣留未付的子女抚养费或 税收留置权, 从而使退款少于您的预期,也少于您借入的预付款.

但是您仍然必须还清预付款. 对您的贷方来说这是低风险的贷款, 但是你是高风险的借款人. 当您将费用与大多数人借入的金额相加时, 这些贷款最终可能花费与众所周知的昂贵发薪日贷款差不多的费用.

退还贷款和垫款的替代方法

  1. 使用直接存款
    国税局估计 90% 的退款到达 21 天 如果您使用电子文件并使用直接存款. 从长远来看,这意味着您最好再等待退款.
  2. 减少退款
    如果您依靠年度退款, 您正在向国税局提供免息贷款,并在支付高额费用的同时. 调整预扣税额,以便您的雇主从您的工资中提取正确的金额, 然后制定预算以每月省钱. 虽然看起来您正在获得奖金, 更改预扣金额将使您全年获得更多收入.
  3. 借用其他地方
    如果您绝对必须
    迫切需要借钱, 寻找较便宜的选择. 记得: 报税员应该在报税, 不借钱给你. 如果您使用退税预付款或贷款, 您为方便而付出的代价. 贷款人将为您的业务竞争,并有可能给您带来更好的交易.

如果你需要借钱, 在当地的银行和信用合作社四处逛逛. 个人贷款可能是低成本的好选择, 低风险借贷. 比较费率和费用, 并选择最佳选择.


CWF可以提供帮助!

提前退款可能听起来很棒. 我们懂了. 但, 这不是一件好事,会花你钱.

我们还知道,您的纳税可能会令人沮丧,并且会产生额外费用. 如果您是宾夕法尼亚州东南部和新泽西州南部的工作家庭或个人,收入低于 $57,000 每年, 让CWF的专业人员 免费准备和报税!

立即开始免费纳税准备

A Big Chunk Goes to the Tax Preparer

It begins almost immediately after the holiday festivities — the advertisements for tax refund advances. 

It could be appealing to go for that refund advance, especially if holiday spending took a chunk out of your finances. It’s also tempting for those who have lost their jobs or were forced to reduce their hours due to the COVID-19 pandemic. But before you jump on an offer for a tax refund advance, make sure you understand how it works.

You could be getting yourself into an expensive “loan,” and you could also end up paying for services you don’t need. 

Keep in mind that if you file your taxes electronically and use direct deposit for your refund, you may be able to get your refund in a few weeks. 

How Tax Refund Advances Work

First, you have to agree to have your taxes prepared by the company offering the tax refund advance. Most companies also limit the amount of the advance.

It’s important to note that the tax preparation companies don’t lend you the money –they forge a relationship with a bank that lends you the money. When you receive your tax refund, the advance amount is automatically deducted from your refund and funneled to that bank, effectively paying back the loan for you. If you borrowed less than the total amount of your refund, your refund’s remainder is usually loaded onto a prepaid card.

Some of the tax refund advances do charge interest—up to 36% in some cases! Even though you’re only borrowing the money for a short period—just until your refund comes—it still means you’ll owe more to the company than you borrowed. 

Is It Free Money?

There is no such thing as a free lunch, as the saying goes. Even if a tax preparation service advertises interest-free tax refund advances, a fee may be folded into the tax preparation fee. If you don’t pay for your tax preparation upfront (having the cost deducted from your return instead), tax services may charge an additional fee. 

If the refund advance is issued using a payment card (such as a prepaid debit card) provided by the tax service, the card may charge additional fees. Prepaid debit cards can have monthly fees and other charges. Credit cards can charge high-interest rates and annual fees. ATM withdrawals can cost $3, and it can cost up to $4.95 to reload more cash. That all adds up. 

When converted to an annual percentage rate, the costs can be relatively high (several hundred percent APR, for example). You’re paying a fee to get your own money more quickly than you’d otherwise get it.

Tax preparers may also charge a flat fee to process your tax refund advance, sometimes referred to as a refund anticipation loan. Those charges could be $30 to $50 for a federal refund, plus additional fees for state refunds. There can also be additional charges depending on how the advance is issued. For example, a fee of $30 to print a check or to issue a debit card is possible.

Exactly How Risky Is It?

In addition to the potentially high fees, the amount of your refund from the IRS isn’t final until you have the money in hand. A tax preparer can miscalculate, or the IRS may disallow some of your deductions. For example, the IRS might withhold funds for things like unpaid child support or tax liens, thereby making your refund smaller than you anticipated and less than you borrowed for the advance. 

But you still have to pay off the advance. It’s a low-risk loan for your lender, but you’re a high-risk borrower. When you add up the fees relative to the amount most people borrow, these loans can end up costing roughly as much as notoriously expensive payday loans.

Alternatives to Refund Loans and Advances

  1. Use direct deposit
    The
    IRS estimates that 90% of refunds arrive within 21 days if you e-file and use direct deposit. That means you’re better off in the long run just waiting for your refund. 
  2. Minimize your refund
    If you rely on annual refunds, you’re giving the IRS an interest-free loan and paying hefty fees while you’re at it. Adjust your withholding so that your employer takes the correct amount from your pay, then develop a budget to save money each month. Although it may seem like you’re getting a bonus, changing your withholding amount will give you more income year-round.
  3. Borrow elsewhere
    If you absolutely must
    borrow for immediate needs, look for less expensive options. Remember: a tax preparer should be doing your taxes, not lending you money. If you use a tax refund advance or loan, you’re paying the price for convenience. Lenders will compete for your business and potentially give you a better deal.

If you need to borrow money, shop around at local banks and credit unions. Personal loans might be a good option for low-cost, low-risk borrowing. Compare rates and fees, and pick the best option.


CWF Can Help! 

Getting an advance on your refund might sound like a great deal. We get it. But, it’s not a good deal and will cost you money. 

We also get that doing your taxes can be frustrating and an extra expense. If you’re a  working family or individual in Southeastern Pennsylvania and Southern New Jersey earning less than $57,000 per year, let the professionals at CWF prepare and file your taxes for free!

START YOUR FREE TAX PREP NOW